The Education of Zachary and the Soulful Struggle for “The Infinite Potential of All Children”

I AM AN EDUCATOR

Zachary_Graduation Zachary’s 5th grade graduation, with Kelly, Jackson, Zachary, Joshua Bock (left to right).

During the last days of the school year I wrote an essay for my website, I Am An Educator.com, about my kindergarten son opting out of the MAP test. I received an overwhelming number of positive responses to that piece, but none more powerful than from a mother from Minneapolis, Minnesota.  Kelly Pylkas-Bock expressed her appreciation for the story of my son opting out, and sent me a truly moving description of her son–and why he cannot be reduced to a score–that she intends to deliver to his councilor when he starts middle school next year. I asked if I could publish her letter to the councilor and she replied,

Thank you for your encouraging response, Jesse. I have already shared my letter with [my son] Zachary because, as early as kindergarten standardized tests impacted his…

View original post 1,702 more words

