Transitions

One Mom's Journey Through Education Reform

Soon, my family will be heading to drop my son off at college. It is bittersweet for so many parents, but it is especially so because my son had a lot to deal with as a child. I am so grateful that my son came though school when he did, when the teachers were allowed to have the child determine educational needs, and not have to force the child to meet what has been determined by an out of control bureaucracy.
Except for a few specific times, my son always enjoyed going to school. I am in several special needs groups and my news feed this morning is post after post of heartbroken parents whose child is dreading going to school. Not the usual, not just not wanting the summer to end, not grumbling because they cannot sleep late any more. Real dread, that cause real stress and real…

View original post 328 more words

