As school begins, the Usdoe and Nysed ignore the obvious.

image

These people ought to be ashamed of themselves.

Anyone who still hides behind the “there are no tests in K-2” can come out now with their hands up and surrender.

“She lifted her head and looked up at me. Tears streamed down her face. I crouched down next to her. “What’s wrong, honey?” “Mrs. Doerr, I’m tired,” she cried. “I want my mommy.” It was a moment I will never forget. I took her test and said, “Would you like a nice comfy pillow so you can take a rest?” She nodded. I exchanged her paper for a pillow.

So this is kindergarten.

We force children to take tests that their brains cannot grasp.”

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/wp/2015/09/02/test-prep-for-5-year-olds-is-a-real-thing-heres-what-it-looks-like/.

Education activist, Stop Common Core in Rockland County, NY admin Suzanne DiAngelo Coyle adds,
“Breaks my heart. I’ll never forget the day my Kindergarten daughter came home crying after a day assessments were given. At age five, she said these words to me: “Mommy, why is my teacher giving me tests when I don’t even know how to read? I thought she was supposed to teach me?” That afternoon, the teacher called me…she was crying too. The testing frenzy has to stop.”

It’s become painfully obvious that this new system is broken and wrong. Every time you read the news it’s being exposed. This week had a lot of call a spade a spade pieces. That’s not stopping the Usdoe though, because there’s enough money involved that they choose instead to turn a blind eye.

This week in the news, we have some undeniable reasons to pull away and turn this sinking ship around.

“That’s the real political calculation behind the tests. They don’t assess skills or teacher “effectiveness” so much as they measure conformity and the establishment’s power. Students, families, and educators are learning fast that whatever they put on the answer sheet, it all adds up to zero.”

http://www.thenation.com/article/the-rebellion-against-standardized-tests-is-exploding/.

And:
The rationale for common core and it’s testing is gone.
http://dianeravitch.net/2015/09/02/u-s-news-the-rationale-for-common-core-testing-is-gone/.

http://www.usnews.com/news/politics/articles/2015/08/31/initial-common-core-goals-unfulfilled-as-results-trickle-in.

It’s impossible to ignore now. Let’s fold these cards. Nysed, you’ve lost. The collateral damage has become too large to fix. Save the youngest ones and end this abuse now.

Image credit sheknows.com

