Our children know.

image

Check this out. Our children know.

Via Youth Speaking Out.

Connecticut student speaks about Common Core;

“Today I will be speaking about the educational program of the district and the new curriculum being placed in our schools. The educational program chosen by the state of Connecticut and our town of New Milford are the Common Core State Standards Initiative.

Common Core was developed by three organizations in Washington D.C.. The National Governors Association, the Council for Chief State School Officers, and Achieve Inc. which were all funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation). Also deeply involved was the US Department of Education (American Principles Project). This is a violation of the tenth amendment which states that all powers not given to the federal government fall to the states.

As for the standards themselves, they were never tested and proven to raise academic achievement. Currently students are being used to pilot this system at the risk of their education (Truth in American Education). The material on the Common Core tests are not made available to anyone in the education system.

After we take them we are not allowed to see the grading rationale or how we were individually evaluated, we can only see our score. How can we trust where our information goes, if it is accurate, how it is used and/or compared on a national and international benchmark if we aren’t allowed this information? Why is our own education hidden from us? What is the big secret?

As a student I am experiencing first hand Common Core curriculum. In my English 3 honors class we are focusing more on Social Studies topics than English. The texts we have received so far contain subliminal messaging of a leftist view of society.

One particularly concerning quote from one of these texts was “[American] pride seems excessive” (Quindlen, A Quilt Of A Country). Is this the message you want to send to your students? Well I will NEVER be ashamed to be an American and I know that as an American I am exceptional!

More examples come from math curriculum. Teachers are forced to teach methods that are longer, more complicated, and in many cases, more confusing. Recently, Greg Gutfeld a co-host on Fox News’ The Five sat down with a teacher and watched as it took her 56 seconds to solve the problem 9+6 (The Daily Caller), these methods are being sold as “rigorous” and “critical thinking skills”, these are NOT skills they are a waste of time.

Under the Common Core system we are taught in groups and told we have to come to an answer we all agree on. We are being taught to think as a whole and not as a creative individual. There is a shift for our individualism to dissolve.

This is beginning an age of students teaching themselves and eliminating the need for teachers. Teachers are IRREPLACEABLE. I have had teachers that have inspired a love of education and confidence in me that has allowed me to be here today to defend my education from the people meant to protect it and I would like everyone to know, I will NEVER surrender my unique right as an American to disagree with the person sitting next to me, or the people in my government, without threat.

This program is destroying our schools, our confidence, and our freedom. I would like to quote Abraham Lincoln who said “America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves from within.”

Lastly, I would like to thank the board members for allowing me to speak and just remind you that you do have the power to save our town from this system and stop the implementation of Common Core. I would also like you to know there will be more like me, soon. And we will not go away! Thank You.”

~Sydney Lane

Speech to the Board of Education about Common Core. Sydney is currently a Senior at New Milford High School in New Milford, CT. When she gave this speech it was the beginning of her Junior year.

And then another student;

Student rejects Common Core brainwashing and bullying in Mahopac New York:

“We get these worksheets, and I feel like I’m being brainwashed. And it’s not happening. I’m not going to let that happen to me, because I’ve read different books on that happening and I’m so scared of it and I won’t let it happen.

And I feel like what the Common Core is doing to me, it is saying “answer the question and leave it alone. Don’t ever think about anything else.” And that’s not happening.

I’m not old enough to vote yet, but my voice will be heard. I’m American, and I was born here and I know what I’m saying. I’m not a stupid little 9th grade girl who doesn’t know this. I realize there’s stuff going on. And I don’t like it.

If you think maybe the Common Core is good, and you see every little kid who comes home crying, saying I can’t handle this. And then every older kid who says I can’t handle this either. What is wrong with these people? You can see there’s problems.

And now they go on to my little brother. My little brother has an auditory processing disorder, he’s bullied. He’s got issues, and school doesn’t have to be one of them.

They tried to put him in a special needs class, which there’s nothing wrong with that. But he doesn’t like it. He came home the first day of school in tears, which almost brought me to tears, because that’s my little brother. He’s bullied already, he does not need to be bullied by his school.

You know, he doesn’t get this stuff, and he is being taught the stuff I’m being taught and that is not right. There are so many kids who say they can’t handle it, they want to be home schooled. It’s wrong, I feel it’s wrong. I just can’t take Common Core anymore, I’m done with it. I can’t handle it.”

~Brittany, 9th grade student
Our kids know. Yes, they do.

***Any students or children who have made videos and uploaded them publicly on youtube and would like to have them put up on Youth Speaking Out, please message the Facebook page. https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=501495033341688&tsid=0.10663037677295506&source=typeahead
We all need to hear from you.

